AIA Group Ltd.

AIA Group Ltd.

Sector: Insurance Carriers Not Elsewhere Classified Region: Hong Kong

: | Frankfurt Stock Exchange: 7A2 | Hong Kong Stock Exchange: 1299 | OTC Markets: AAGIY

Similar to: Lincoln National Corp., Hiscox Ltd., Euler Hermes Group SA

AIA Group Ltd. provides general insurance services. The company operates through the following segments: Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, Korea, Malaysia, China, Other Markets, and Group Corporate Centre. The Hong Kong reportable segment includes Macau. The Singapore reportable segment includes Brunei. The Other Markets segment includes the group's operations in the Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam, India, Australia, New Zealand and Taiwan. The Corporate Centre segment consists of the group's corporate functions, shared services, certain internal reinsurance and eliminations of the intragroup transactions.The company was founded by Cornelius Vander Starr in 1919 and is headquartered in Hong Kong.

Latest Media

Warning! Third-party cookies must be enabled to view SlideShare presentations. ×

Having trouble?


AIA Company Video Presentation

AIA Group Ltd. video


AIA Group Ltd. video

AIA's Tucker Says Confident of Asia's Continued Growth

AIA Group Ltd. video

AIG to Sell a Portion of Investment to AIA Group (AIG)


Mark Edward Tucker, Chief Executive Officer
Mr. Mark Edward Tucker, aged 55, is an Executive Director and the Group Chief Executive and President of the Company. For the period from 12 October 2010 to 31 December 2010, he served as Group Executive Chairman and Group Chief Executive Officer of the Company. Mr. Tucker joined the Group in July 2010 and is also Chairman of American International Assurance Company, Limited and American International Assurance Company (Bermuda) Limited. He is responsible for the strategic direction and overall management and performance of the Group. Prior to joining the Group, Mr. Tucker served as Group Chief Executive of Prudential plc from 2005 to 2009. Amongst the leadership positions that Mr. Tucker occupied during his time at Prudential, he was the founder and Chief Executive of Prudential Corporation Asia from 1994 to 2003; Assistant Director, Group Chief Executive’s Office from 1987 to 1989; General Manager of Prudential Assurance Co. Limited, Hong Kong from 1989 to 1992; Senior Vice President of Operations in Jackson National Life Insurance Co. Lansing, U.S. from 1992 to 1993 and a Director of Prudential plc from 1999 to 2003. During the period from 2004 to 2005, Mr. Tucker was Group Finance Director of HBOS plc. Mr. Tucker was a Non-executive Director of the Court of The Bank of England and a member of both its Financial Stability Committee and its Audit and Risk Committee from 1 June 2009 to 31 May 2012. Mr. Tucker qualified as a Chartered Accountant (ACA) in 1985.
Garth Jones, Chief Financial Officer
Edmund Sze Wing Tse, Chairman
Mr. Edmund Sze Wing Tse (謝仕榮),aged 74, is the Non-executive Chairman and a Non- executive Director of the Company. He is also the Chairman of The Philippine American Life and General Insurance Company. Amongst Mr. Tse’s appointments during more than 40 years with the Group, he served as Honorary Chairman of American International Assurance Company, Limited from July 2009 to December 2010, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of American International Assurance Company, Limited from 2000 to June 2009 and its President and Chief Executive Officer from 1983 to 2000. Mr. Tse is a Non-executive Director of PCCW Limited and PICC Property and Casualty Company Limited. He has also been a Non-executive Director of PineBridge Investments Limited since May 2012. In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the development of Hong Kong’s insurance industry, Mr. Tse was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star by the HKSAR Government in 2001. Mr. Tse received an honorary fellowship and an honorary degree of Doctor of Social Sciences from The University of Hong Kong in 1998 and 2002, respectively. In 2003, Mr. Tse was elected to the prestigious Insurance Hall of Fame. Mr. Tse was appointed as a Non-executive Director of the Company on 27 September 2010 and Non-executive Chairman on 1 January 2011.

News & Analysis

You may also be interested in: