Fidelity Special Values Plc

Fidelity Special Values Plc

Sector: Unit Investment Trusts, Face-Amount Certificate Offices, and Closed-End Management Investment Offices Region: United Kingdom

: | London Stock Exchange: FSV

Fidelity Special Values PLC is a Closed-End Investment Fund/Investment Trust. The Portfolio Manager, Alex Wright, aims to achieve long term capital growth from a portfolio of shares consisting primarily of UK-listed companies. The Company will have a blend of investments in larger, medium and smaller sized companies and be guided by a contrarian philosophy.

Latest Media

Warning! Third-party cookies must be enabled to view SlideShare presentations. ×

Having trouble?

Alex Wright. Investing in Special Values

Fidelity Special Values Plc video

Alex Wright. Investing in Special Values


Lynn Ruddick , Chairman
(date of appointment as Chairman: 2010; as Director: 22 July 2005) Is a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants and a member of the Securities Institute. She is a non-executive director of British Assets Trust plc, a non-executive director of Standard Life UK Smaller Companies Trust plc, a member of the Investment Committee of the Pearson Group Pension Plan and a trustee of the Scottish & Newcastle Pension Plan. She is also a member of the Investment Committee of Western Provident Association and chairman of their Pension Fund Trustee Board. She worked for many years as an investment manager in both Edinburgh and London and is a former chairman of the Investment Committee of the National Association of Pension Funds. Before retiring from Merrill Lynch Investment Managers in 2004 she headed their investment trust business unit.
Douglas Kinloch Anderson, Board Member
(date of appointment: 18 October 1994) Is chairman of Kinloch Anderson Limited and a director of Martin Currie Portfolio Investment Trust PLC and F&C Private Equity Trust PLC. He has been president of the Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Scottish Committee of the Institute of Directors. He was previously a board member of the Scottish Tourist Board, Master of the Edinburgh Merchant Company and he was national president of the Royal Warrant Holders Association. His career has included wide experience in manufacturing, retailing and exporting, particularly to Europe, North America and the Far East.
Nicky McCabe, Board Member
(date of appointment: 9 December 2004) Is an Executive Director of Moonray Investors, a division of FIL Investments International, responsible for the non-financial services businesses within Fidelity. Prior to that, Nicky was Chief Operating Officer for the investment management team, having joined Fidelity in 1999 as head of investment administration. Nicky has wide experience in investments, having been responsible for all aspects of operational, systems and project support for the portfolio managers, analysts and traders. Prior to joining Fidelity, Nicky spent 6 years at HSBC Asset Management where she ran Performance Measurement, Institutional Marketing Support and Operations. Nicky also spent 2 years at McKinsey & Co. as a strategy consultant.
Ben Thomson , Board Member
(date of appointment: 1 January 2008) Ben is Chairman of Urbicus Ltd, a property fund management business. He has previously worked for Kleinwort Benson and the Noble Group. He was appointed as Chief Executive of Noble Group in 1997 and became Chairman in 2007. Ben is also Chairman of Inverleith Capital LLP; Chairman of the Trustees of the National Galleries of Scotland; Chairman of the charity Reform Scotland, and Chairman of Barrington Stoke, a Scottish publishing company. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Martin Currie Global Portfolio Trust Plc and the Edinburgh International Science Festival.
Sharon Brown , Chairman of the Audit Committee
(date of appointment: 15 April 2010 appointed as Chairman of the Audit Committee: 26 October 2010) Is Finance Director of Dobbies Garden Centres PLC and Member of Court and Audit Committee Chairman of Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh as well as a member of the Group of Scottish Finance Directors. Ms Brown previously held a senior financial position at John Menzies PLC and is a qualified accountant.
Andy Irvine, Chairman
(date of appointment: 15 April 2010) Is Chairman of Montanaro European Smaller Companies PLC and a Director of Securities Trust of Scotland PLC and Non-Executive Chairman of Robertson Property. Mr Irvine is also Non-Executive Chairman of Jones Lang LaSalle Scotland, Chairman of the Scottish International Education Trust and Chairman of the British and Irish Lions Limited having previously been President of the Scottish Rugby Union until 2007.

News & Analysis