British Polythene Industries Plc

British Polythene Industries Plc

Sector: Packaging Paper And Plastics Film Coated And Laminated Region: United Kingdom

: | London Stock Exchange: BPI

British Polythene Industries Plc manufactures and supplies polythene film, bags and sacks. It is also a recycler of polythene waste with recycling techniques for processing a diverse range of scrap materials ranging from agricultural films to post-use stretch films. In the food sector the company's products are used throughout the growing, processing and retailing cycle, with specialty agricultural films used to protect young and tender crops. The firm's broad range of printed films and bags are supplied throughout the food processing and packer/filler sectors, with its stretch and shrink films used to ensure secure and safe product distribution to the end user. The company's polythene films are extensively used to pack, promote and protect its customers' products throughout the non-food, industrial and manufacturing sectors. The company was founded on March 16, 1910 and is headquartered in Greenock, the United Kingdom.


Cameron McLatchie CBE, Chairman
Cameron joined the Board in 1983 on the acquisition of Anaplast where he had been Chairman and Managing Director since 1975. Cameron became Group Chairman and Chief Executive in 1988, relinquishing the role of Chief Executive in May 2003. He is a member of the Advisory Board of Scottish Equity Partners LLP. This consultancy role involves reading investment proposal papers and attendance at 4 to 5 meetings per annum.
John Langlands CA, Chief Executive
John joined the Board in 1994 as Group Finance Director from Eclipse Blinds plc where he was also Finance Director. He was previously Finance Director at Scottish Enterprise and United Wire Limited. John was appointed Chief Operating Officer in May 2002 and Chief Executive in May 2003.
David Harris FCCA, Group Finance Director
David joined the Board as Group Finance Director in July 2009. His responsibilities include Group IT and energy purchasing. Since joining BPI in 1996, David has held a number of senior financial and general management roles, including Managing Director of BPI Industrial and Business Director of BPI Consumer. He was previously with Grant Thornton and is Chairman of the Scottish Finance Directors’ Group.
Hamish Grossart, Non-Executive Deputy Chairman
Hamish joined the Board in May 2005 and is currently Chairman of Artemis Investment Management and Indigovision Group. After a career in investment banking, he has, over the last 25 years, held a range of executive and non executive positions in listed and unlisted companies covering a wide range of industries. He was Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of Cairn Energy PLC from 1996 to 2010, and Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of Scottish Radio Holdings plc from 1993 until 2005. Past Chairmanships include Royal Doulton PLC, Eclipse Blinds PLC, Scottish Highland Hotels Ltd, Hicking Pentecost Plc and EFT Group PLC. He is Chairman of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees.
Lord Jamie Lindsay, Non-Executive Director
Lord Lindsay joined the Board in March 2006 and is currently Chairman of the agricultural group SRUC and SAC Commercial Limited, a Non-Executive Director of Scottish Resources Group Limited, Chairman of UKAS (UK Accreditation Service), Chairman of Frelish Energy Limited and from 1998 to 2005 was a Non-Executive Director of the agricultural and property company UA Group PLC. With effect from September 2012, he became the President of The National Trust for Scotland conservation charity. His career has included senior appointments in the commercial, environmental and government sectors, as well as ministerial responsibilities for agriculture, food, the environment and sustainable development.
Ron Marsh, Non-Executive Director
Ron joined the Board as an independent non-executive Director in March 2011. Ron has 40 years experience in the packaging industry and, since 1989, has been Chief Executive of RPC Group PLC, Europe’s leading supplier of rigid plastic packaging products. Prior to that he was involved in the manufacture and sale of folding cartons, initially with Metal Box (1971-1987) and subsequently with Reed International PLC. He is also a Director of the Packaging Federation (a company limited by guarantee).
Ian Russell CA CBE, Non-Executive Director
Ian joined the Board as an independent Non-Executive Director in July 2011. Ian is Chairman of Johnston Press PLC, Advance Power AG and of Remploy Limited and a Non-Executive Director of The Mercantile Investment Trust plc, British Assets plc and HICL Infrastructure Company Limited. He is an adviser to Clyde Bergemann Power Group. Ian was previously Chief Executive of Scottish Power plc following a career in finance with HSBC, Mars Limited and KPMG. He is a Chartered Accountant and Chairman of the Audit Committee.
David Warnock, Non-Executive Director
David joined the Board as an independent Non-Executive Director in August 2009. He has over 30 years’ investment experience in both public and private companies in both the UK and USA. He co-founded Aberforth Partners LLP and was a partner for 19 years until he retired from the firm in 2008, prior to which he was with Ivory & Sime plc for four years and before that with 3i plc for seven years. David is also a non-executive Director of Phoenix IT Group plc, Standard Life European Private Equity Trust plc, Troy Income & Growth Trust plc and a number of private companies.

News & Analysis